Art Fair

Art Fair Philippines 2020


    February 21, 2020 – February 23, 2020

    The Link, Ayala Centre, Makati

    Gajah Gallery is pleased to announce its participation at Art Fair Philippines 2020, featuring a superb selection of dynamic works from prominent contemporary artists based in Southeast Asia. These works will be showcased at the Gajah Gallery booth 73 on the seventh level of the Link at Ayala Centre in Makati.

    This year, Gajah Gallery presents an exciting selection of works made in collaboration with the Yogya Art Lab (YAL), the Gallery’s art production house and foundry in Yogyakarta, Indonesia. We are thrilled to present brand new sculptural works by renowned Filipino artist Jigger Cruz and famed Indonesian artists Uji “Hahan” Handoko and Yunizar, made in the foundry’s signature bronze.

    Also created in collaboration with YAL are Singaporean artist Jane Lee’s new works from her latest Masters Series. This series tackles the larger concept of human understanding by using Old Master paintings as a tool to understand the complexities of faith and religion. The works that will be presented at Art Fair Philippines depict The Mona Lisa as Jane’s subject of fascination and divulge the elusive answer to the much asked question: who are we?

    We are also excited to announce that internationally acclaimed interdisciplinary collective teamLab will be exclusively joining Gajah Gallery again this year, presenting two works from their iconic Enso series. Enso is the Zen practice of drawing a circle with a single brush stroke as Spatial Calligraphy. The brush stroke is suspended in space but the viewpoint changes to reveal the circle Enso. These works incredibly portray the depth, speed and power of a single brush stroke.

    Aligning with Gajah Gallery’s directives to always present the best of Southeast Asian contemporary art, we are thrilled to be exhibiting a blockbuster line-up of artists this year at Art Fair Philippines. Joining us in 2020 are Ashley Bickerton (USA), Dini Nur Aghnia (Indonesia), Erizal As (Indonesia), Ibrahim (Indonesia), Jigger Cruz (Philippines), Jane Lee (Singapore), Rudi Mantofani (Indonesia), teamLab (Japan), Uji “Hahan” Handoko (Indonesia), and Yunizar (Indonesia).

    Related Content